The ANA Election is over!

The election is over!  And I am surprised by a few of the results.

In descending order of number of votes, the winners are Gary Adkins, Scott Rottinghouse, Ralph Ross, Mike Ellis, Greg Lyon, Jeff Swindling, and Laura Sperber.

The losers, again in order of number of votes received, are Tom Mulvaney, William Hyder, Oded Paz, Scott Barman, me, Jeff Wuller, and Richard Jozefiak.

My first time out I basically gave myself one chance in three of winning–I am not that well known outside of exhibiting (if only the exhibiting community could vote, I’d probably have been a shoo-in).   Still I hoped for better than 12th place.  (I have some theories on what I could have done better–lessons learned.)

What’s more interesting though, is that for all the fuss and fury over the entire board needing to be fired because Jeff Shevlin was let go as ANA executive director… not a single one of the four governor incumbents lost.  And the most vocally pro-Shevlin people all lost.  The new governors are Ralph Ross, Jeff Swindling, and Laura Sperber.

This election was a far cry from the Insurrection of 2007 (as I call it) where every incumbent who had opposition lost.  Every single governor was either new, or someone who had last been governor years before.

The only person who did win who plans to try to shake things up (and hard) was Laura Sperber, and if she has a “trademark” cause, it is coin doctoring.  That’s a good one, in my opinion.  (Notice, though, that it’s not a personal politics cause; it’s an issue that affects everyone in their collecting.)

Leave a Reply

